Tasmanian Portraiture Prize

The Tasmanian Portraiture Prize is Tasmania’s premier portraiture award for aspiring emerging Tasmanian artists aged 30 and under, and is the result of a highly successful partnership between RACT Insurance and Tasmanian Regional Arts.

The prize is open to artists across many disciplines with past Tasmanian award recipients working in media such as digital, painting and photography.

Entrants are invited to paint a portrait of a living Tasmanian who is important to them, along with an artist statement describing the inspiration and meaning behind the artwork.

As well as an opportunity to exhibit their works in a professional exhibition the award offers the following prizes:

  1. The winner receives $5,000 and a trip for two to the Archibald Prize exhibition in Sydney
  2. The runner-up receives $2,000 towards studio setup
  3. The sponsors’ choice receives $500
  4. The people’s choice receives $500

Visit the Tasmanian Portraiture Prize website for details of this year’s award and previous winners.


Hobart – Long Gallery
Saturday 20 September – Saturday 5 October
77 Salamanca Place, Hobart
Gallery hours: Monday to Sunday 10am to 4pm

Launceston – Sawtooth Gallery
Friday 31 October – Saturday 22 November
First Floor, 160 Cimitiere Street, Launceston
Gallery hours: Wednesday to Friday 12 noon to 5pm | Saturday 12 noon to 4pm

Burnie – Burnie Regional Art Gallery
Friday 12 December – Saturday 31 January
Burnie Arts & Function Centre
Wilmot Street, Burnie
Gallery hours: Monday to Friday 10am to 4.30pm | Saturday, Sunday & public holidays 1.30pm to 4.30pm



2012 Winner – Laura Hindmarsh with the video work Studio Drag

2011 TYPP Winner – Rob O ‘Connor with Brand X

2010 Overall Winner – Elsewhere by Ashley Bodell

2009 Overall Winner – Fin by Nathan Grey

2008 Overall Winner – Self Portrait with Cow near Richmond by Hilton Owen

TRA President Lee Cole, City of Brisbane’s Jill Prentice, and RACTI CEO Trent Sayers pictured above at the 2009 ABAF Awards function at Brisbane’s City Hall. Over 1,000 people attended the function, including Arts Minister Peter Garrett and Australia Council Chairman James Strong.